Nokia N97 GPS Nav App Round-up

I’ve compiled a list with video demos of all the GPS navigation applications that work on the Nokia N97.   After some testing, I also included my thoughts on the pros and cons of each.

NDrive 3.5.18

NDrive_3.5.18screenshot0010e

Pros

  • 3D Maps of important landmarks
  • All input is through a on-screen keyboard so you can navigate without openning the slider

Cons

  • None (so far)

TomTom Mobile 6.01

tomtom6.01

Pros

  • Intuitive interface (IMO)

Cons

  • No touchscreen support
  • Gets stuck on some screens because of inacessible buttons
  • No spoken names of streets
  • Qwerty input does not work (have to use T9)

Sygic Mobile 7.71

Sygic7.714

Pros

  • Similar intuitive interface as TomTom

Cons

  • None (so far)

Garmin Mobile XT 5.00.50

Garminsc-02-lg

Pros

  • 3D Maps

Cons

  • Images sometimes get cutoff in landscape mode
  • Seems a little slow in recalculating routes

Nokia Ovi Maps 3.0

ovimaps3

Pros

  • 3D Maps of major landmarks

Cons

  • Seems to require a data connection to search point of interests

Since I’ve always been a fan of TomTom since I have my Dell Axim x51v, my personal favorite nav app on the N97 is Sygic Mobile since its a copycat of TomTom.

Tags: , , , , ,

5 Responses to “Nokia N97 GPS Nav App Round-up”

  1. berlin Says:

    hey buddy im from canada and I really need your help. Im a newB in technology so can you pls help me to get the garmin gps app to work in Nokian97.

  2. VipeR Says:

    Hello,

    can you please e-mail me, how to install TomTom on Nokia N97. *I got the newest TomTom Bluetooth module Sirf III*

    I downloaded TomTom 6.01 and tried to install, changed date to 2006 and still it didn’t work..

    Can you pleasee help me with this?

    Many thanks in advance,

    VipeR

  3. Nha Le Says:

    Hello,

    Do you have the link of TomTom for N97 because in my opinion i think tom tom better than Nokia OVI, so can you send me the link please ?

    Thank you very much

    Nha Le

  4. Appu Says:

    Me don’t please gps www?

  5. warz cheats Says:

    Outstanding post however I was wanting to know
    if you could write a litte more on this topic? I’d be very grateful if you could elaborate a little bit more. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

